Midwestern governors work together to address climate change

Nine Midwestern governors and one Canadian premier have signed the Midwestern Regional Greenhouse Gas Reduction Accord. The agreement will set up targets for greenhouse gas emission reductions, create a market-based cap-and-trade system, and establish a system to track and manage emissions. The governors of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin all signed the agreement but Indiana, Ohio, and South Dakota are joining as observers. North Dakota and Nebraska will join the other states to develop the region’s use of renewable energy and energy efficiency programs. Governors in the Western states, Northeastern, and Southwestern states have signed similar regional agreements. For more information, see CPA’s Global Warming policy brief and model legislation. [Minneapolis Star Tribune]

Idaho Governor Signs Moratorium on Coal-Fired Power Plants

Idaho Governor Dirk Kempthorne signed HB 791, sponsored by the Ways and Means Committee, which imposes a two-year moratorium on the building or permitting of coal-fired power plants. Kempthorne, who has been appointed Secretary of the Interior by President Bush, is about to begin confirmation hearings before the U.S. Senate.  For more information, read CPA’s Clean Power Plants policy brief and model legislation.